Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

This post was inspired by Domestic Sluttery which is a great site I’ve recently come across

I am lazy.

So, so lazy.

I’m writing this post in my pjs.

Yet I am also organised and like to keep my house relatively……. clean and tidy. So sometimes what I’m interested in is shortcuts. As well as the usual kind of shortcuts everyone takes (chucking mess into cupboards and hastily shutting it away before guests come round, not cleaning enough and then just chucking bleach everywhere), there is also stuff I do that I think of as being quite weird. Let me know if you think I need to seek treatment or if this is all like, totally normal.

  • I vacuum the kitchen counter rather than touch the gross crumbs with my hands. Weird huh. I will also vacuum : inside the fridge, oven, basically anywhere there’s crumbs. I have lifted Henry up before to vacuum atop my coffee table, in the bath, in the sink, in cupboards and more. Thats how much I hate those little crummy bastards.  And how lazy I am.
  • I have squirted fairy into my washing machine before in lieu of washing powder, and I’m currently using fairy tablets as dishwasher tablets
  • I often give the bathroom a little clean with baby wipes. Wipe the toilet seat, sink and around the shower and things almost look clean…. (to anyone too grossed out reading this to ever come to my house again – we do also clean the bathroom properly, but sometimes you need a little quick fix!)
  • I may also have been known to use make up wipes to remove makeup and then double-team them to do some cleaning too! Often I’ll give the windowsills or dressing table in my bedroom a wipe after I’ve taken my makeup off!
  • I use nail polish remover as a sort of cure all cleaning product for any stains that I can’t remove…. its a marvel!

Huh. Is any of that normal? As well as all that, I have a sort-of phobia around sleeping in a bed where the duvet and the duvet cover aren’t properly aligned – so when you’ve got empty duvet cover syndrome. When this happens, I jump out of bed like a madwoman and start flapping the duvet until the problem is rectified. Poor Lee.

Do you feel happy when your house is clean, or is a clean house the sign of a wasted life to you? What other cheating cleaning/tidying tricks do you use? What stuff can’t you stand? Let me in on your secrets!