Tags

, , , , , ,

Yes its true, I’m still alive. I’m so sorry for my impromptu blog absence but I’ve been fighting off the worlds worst and most annoying cold for about ten days now. And I’m STILL not 100% – I’ve got a cough that scares small children (and cats too). I’m hoping that sometime in the next week I’ll start to feel like my old self again.

One of the things that is annoying about being ill is that I’m missing out on AUTUMN. This weekend was lovely and sunny and I would have loved to get outside and see the leaves changing. But I had to settle for making these autumnal pancakes instead, which was almost as good.

To make the pancakes, first take your dry ingredients and mix them together

  • 220g plain flour
  • 1tsp bicarb
  • 1tsp baking powder
  • 2 tbsp caster sugar
  • 1 tsp (or to taste) cinnamon
  • pinch salt

Then take the wet ingredients and mix those together

  • 200ml milk
  • 250ml natural or greek yoghurt – you can also use buttermilk if you have it but I more often have yoghurt so thats what I use
  • 1 egg – this is OPTIONAL. I know its weird to think that you can make pancakes without an egg, but I’ve made this multiple times with an egg and without an egg and I can’t tell the difference. So don’t let lack of eggs stop you from whipping up some pancakes!

Next, chop up some lovely apple and add it to the mix. I used an eating not a cooking apple. Now, get your biggest non-stick saucepan ready on a medium heat with about a teaspoon of butter melting around in there and dollop on your mix. You can make big or small pancakes – mine always tend to be big but small ones are easier to flip so bear that in mind.

Cook until you start to see bubbles appearing in the top of your batter like in the picture below – and then flip!

Cook on the other side until cooked through – if you’re unsure, use your spatula to lift them up and check the underneath.

Transfer to a plate, smother with maple syrup (or this amazing blueberry syrup) and more cinnamon and enjoy!