This is a sponsored post. All the opinions are mine!

When the team at Baking Mad asked me if I wanted to create some cupcakes to their christmas cupcake recipe I jumped at the chance! Because

a) cupcakes, hell yeah!

b) see a

These cupcakes are my take on the Christmas cupcake recipe from Baking Mad. I omitted the raisins as I’m not keen on them in cakes, and added some cream cheese to the frosting because I’m addicted to the stuff. Do you like my Christmas sprinkles? I’m a little (lot) bit in love with them! If you like pretty sprinkles too, I got them here.

Here’s how to make the cupcakes – its a classic sponge recipe -

  • 150g butter
  • 150g golden caster sugar
  • 3 Happy eggs (happy eggs make for happy cakes!)
  • 125g self-raising flour
  • 25g cocoa powder
  • half a teaspoon baking powder
  • half a teaspoon mixed spice (I used cinnamon)

Beat the very soft butter and sugar together

Add the eggs, flour, baking powder and cocoa powder and cinnamon and beat well

These are the cupcake cases I used – Merry Christmas!

Dollop into your cases (it should make 12 cupcakes) and bake at 170 degrees/ gas mark 6 for about 15-20 minutes.

Leave them to cool and then apply frosting!

For the frosting -

  • 50g butter (very soft)
  • 50g cream cheese (also very soft!)
  • 200g icing sugar

I put some of the cakes into a Christmas cupcake box that my mum gave me from Lakeland – how cute is it?!

To enter to win the copy of Cox Cookies & Cake just leave a comment below, about anything you like! It would make me happy if it was cake related though…