Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I’ve become a little bit obsessed with chocolate pretzels lately. I reviewed this M&S version, made these cookies, and I’ve been fantasizing about these chocolate pretzel cupcakes and chocolate chip pretzel bars a little too much, frankly!

I googled ‘chocolate cookies’ (does anyone else find themselves using google to search for recipes even though they have stacks and stacks of cookbooks on their shelves? Sometimes I even find and make recipes that I have in my cookbooks!) and this Nigella recipe for totally chocolate cookies popped up. Perfect! I jigged with the quantities a bit, taking out some of the chocolate chips and replacing them with broken up pretzels!

  • 100g dark or plain chocolate, melted in the microwave
  • 150g flour
  • 30g cocoa, sieved
  • 1 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 125g soft butter
  • 75g light brown sugar
  • 50g white sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 egg
  • 150g dark chocolate chips (I used plain chocolate cut into large chunks)
  • 200g broken up pretzels. I broke them up by hand and used Tesco pretzels, the M&S ones are very nice too!

You’ll need to preheat your oven to 150 degrees / gas mark 5 if you’re planning on baking the cookies right away.

20120222-095044.jpg

First, cream the soft butter with the light brown and caster sugar.

20120222-095103.jpg

Add vanilla extract, the egg, chocolate chunks, pretzel bits and melted chocolate.

20120222-095148.jpg

Then sift in your plain flour and cocoa powder and also add the bicarb of soda and salt.

20120222-095327.jpg

It should all come together in a fairly stiff dough. At this point, you can use a spoon or your hands to pinch off walnut-sized pieces of the dough, roll into a rough ball and then pop onto a baking tray. Or if you prefer to eat some or all of the cookies later, turn the dough out onto some clingfilm, and mould it into a log shape (or something similar!). Then you can cover with clingfilm and leave in the fridge or freezer until you’re ready to cook. When you are, just use a sharp serrated knife to slice off cookies from the log.

Cook for 10-15 minutes at 150 degrees/gas mark 5. Check them after about 7-8 minutes, and I always rotate cookies from the top and middle shelves of my oven so that none of them get too browned.

20120222-095401.jpg

Enjoy!

x Kerry