*inspired by Rebecca!

Now that I have the blog I realise how much bread I actually make! There’s a reason for that – once you start making your own home-made bread, its completely addictive – because you know that at any one time you are only an hour and a half away from amazing fresh warm bread! And even though an hour and a half sounds like a decent chunk of your day, the actual time you need to invest to get to bread nirvana is minimal, as is the effort involved. And aren’t the contents of the below picture worth some minimal effort?

Here’s the recipe! I give this for guidance but actually most of the time when I’m making bread I don’t follow a recipe – unless its something new that I’m uncertain about. I find that bread rarely goes wrong as long as you follow the same rough proportions.

  • 475g flour – I used a mix of white and wholegrain flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 1 sachet dried yeast
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon chopped rosemary
  • 100g chopped olives
  • 100g crumbled feta

I mixed the flour, salt, sugar, yeast, and olive oil with some hand hot water (I never measure – enough so that the mixture comes together into a dough). Knead for around 5 minutes until it comes together into a springy soft ball of dough. I left to rise for an hour and then kneaded again to incorporate the olives, feta and rosemary (really easy as they’ll literally stick themselves into the dough). Then I just cut the dough up into 8  pieces and baked!

Yum – here’s my bread with soup

And here’s Milo helping me write this blog post!