Tags

, , ,

Inspired by this post over at Nancy Creative,  I made oatmeal chocolate chip cookies this week because eggs come in a pack of  6 and I need 4 eggs for a cake this weekend and cookies need 2 eggs….

This is how my brain works.

The cookies came out looking quite similar to ANZAC biscuits due to all the oats. They were very yummy indeed.

Here’s how I made them -Its another american recipe using cup measures – I do have some cup measures (from Ikea I believe) but I just used a mug to measure out the ‘cups’ in this recipe. No doubt I got more cookies than I would have if I’d used the proper cup measure but thats no bad thing! I made some changes to the original recipe, using all brown sugar as thats what I had, toasting the pecans (which added a really nice depth of flavour), omitting the salt (I don’t miss it) and the RAISINS (not a fan of raisins in cookies. They trick you into thinking they’re chocolate and then BAM-raisins) and using A LOT more chocolate chips. Although, they weren’t technically chocolate chips. Chocolate chips, though super cute and super tasty, were about 71p per 100g in Tesco whereas the tesco version of bournville was 90p per 100g. Since I’m too lazy to chop the chocolate into small pieces, all the ‘chips’ were actually pretty big chocolate chunks.

  • 1 cup butter (I used one pack)
  • 2 cups brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cups plain flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 2.5 cups oats
  • 2.5 cups chocolate chunks
  • 1 cup chopped and toasted pecans

I made these cookies the usual way… creaming the soft butter and sugar, adding the eggs, baking powder and flour before tossing in the remaining ingredients.

Here’s what the cookie dough looked like – the chocolate chunks were pretty epic.

Here’s the quarter of a cup measure that I used to measure out the cookie dough to give roughly equal sized cookies (I got the tip from Nancy’s blog). Lots of cookies recipes suggest using an ice cream scoop to measure out the dough and since I don’t have one of those, this is a good alternative!

Super yum snack! They’re chewy and delicious and the oaty taste can almost fool you into thinking that these cookies are a health food…. almost….