Tags

, ,

I promised you a series of healthy and easy dinner recipes – and here’s the first in the series of meals that meet the following criteria

  • Good for you – with plenty of veggies and some protein and carbs too
  • Inexpensive (these enchiladas cost around a £1 per meal)
  • Quick and easy to prepare and cook

I’m starting off with tuna and veggie enchiladas! If you’re vegetarian then you can easily leave out the tuna and the meal will be even cheaper!  Its the perfect storecupboard meal – because

  1. its a great way to use up veggies that are past their best
  2. you can use whatever you have on hand and experiment with lots of different filling combos
  3. tortillas last for freaking ever – even when the packets open, they’re still usable 6 weeks later… perfect!

Here’s what I used to make them – butter beans (you can use any kind of beans or no beans if you prefer), sweetcorn, tuna, red onion, some tomato sauce (not pictured – I used both a passata in the mix and a organic tomato and basil sauce for the topping) and some cumin!

I fried the red onions in a saucepan and then combined with the tuna, beans, cumin, some tomato passata and some grated cheese. The next time I made this recipe I also put in some pepper that I’d cooked with the onion.

Mix it all up and then deposit in the middle of your tortillas on a baking pan (I’ve learnt from experience to let you know that you should put some olive oil or cooking spray on the tray so no sticking occurs!)

Once the fillings in, just roll the tortillas up into a tight roll and place on the sheet so that the flap is facing down (a bit of the filling might spill out, I just smushed it back in)

I cooked for about 8-10 minutes at 160 degrees – add the tomato sauce (optional) and grated cheese halfway through the cooking time so that the enchiladas aren’t soggy under the sauce. I served with some roasted sweet potatoes, and a dip made of greek yoghurt and coriander. Yum!

Other than a salad where no cooking is involved at all, I think this is the quickest & easiest meal I’ve come across – you can go from thinking about dinner to eating dinner in under 15 minutes and its super easy to make sure you’re always stocked up on tortillas so that you can make this meal whenever you want. Plus, it passes the fussy eaters test, as my boyfriend likes it AND is also a great way to sneak veggies to kids (and boyfriends too!).

 

Want some inspiration on what you would fill your tortillas with? Here are some combo’s I’ve been thinking about making in the future

  • Goats cheese, tomato and basil
  • Veggie chilli, tomato sauce, beans, onions and peppers
  • Onions, cheese, beans and chicken