Tags

, , , ,

I made guacamole! I was inspired by this post over at Lindsay’s blog, and the fact that I had two rapidly softening avocado’s gazing at me accusatorily with from the kitchen vegetable bowl.So, despite Friday night being incredibly busy, I used them to make this delicious guacamole, multitasking between making cookies, making brownies, making dinner and making guacamole! Oh and then I realised I didn’t have any tortilla chips with which to eat said guacamole, so I made some of my own!

Here’s what I used

  • 2 ripe avocados
  • one third of a medium red onion finely chopped
  • one quarter of a red pepper finely chopped
  • handful of coriander
  • the juice of one lime
  • 1 tsp garlic puree
  • half a teaspoon cumin
  • half a teaspoon curry powder

First I scooped the avocado out of its shell into a large bowl and mashed/forked it around a bit!

Then I added the lime, garlic, cumin and curry powder before chopping up the pepper and onion and adding those. A mezzeluna is really handy for getting them chopped really finely!

Its as simple as that!

And extremely delicious!

Here’s how I made the tortilla chips to go with them! I made these using wholemeal tortillas which accounts for the wholemeal colour of them. I simply cut them up into triangular-ish shapes, and then baked them for a few minutes in a medium oven (keeping an eagle eye on them). When I make them again (and I’m sure I will as we always have tortillas around) I’ll use a non stick cooking spray and sprinkle a little salt on them too.

Finally, as well as eating the guacamole with chips, I also used some to make this guacamole veggie burger! Yum