Tags

, , , , , ,

Thai green curry is yum.

Its fragrant, delicious, healthy and chock full of good stuff like vegetables too.

In fact, there were so many vegetables in this curry that I rechristened it thai RAINBOW curry. It had red peppers, red onions, orange peppers, yellow peppers, green peppers, green courgette…. I really just needed a blue vegetable and a purple vegetable for the full rainbow!

This recipe takes a little longer than some of the other ones in the healthy easy dinners series (about 35-40 minutes) BUT I got a total of 7 meals out of this recipe which means that you will have lots of easy peasy leftovers to eat!

Here’s what goes into it –

  • 4 large chicken breasts (I used less chicken than the original recipe and bought free range chicken breasts – the difference wasn’t noticable at all)
  • 225g new potatoes
  • 1 can coconut milk
  • thai green curry paste
  • 300ml milk
  • 100g natural yoghurt
  • 1 lime
  • 3 peppers
  • half a courgette
  • 2 red onions
  • lots of chopped coriander for sprinking

I didn’t take any pictures while I was cooking so here’s a recap of what I did!

First, I cut the chicken breasts up into bite sized chunks and started to cook them in a very large saucepan. I cooked them with some garlic puree and vegetable oil.

Next, I added all the veg and cooked that till it was soft and a little browned, and then added the coconut milk. Normally I would have bought 2 tins of coconut milk (because I love my thai green curry extra coconutty) but all tesco had was bloody EXPENSIVE coconut milk that was like £2 a tin, so I just bought one! And bulked it out with some milk and natural yoghurt. At this point I also added the thai green curry paste, I added about 3 tablespoons (and it still wasn’t THAT spicy!). I simmered the veggies and coconut milk sauce until it was thick and then it was ready to serve!

I served with brown rice and chopped coriander. Super yum.

Best of all, the curry tasted even better after a couple of days in the fridge – the sauce is even more delicious and concentrated.

What’s your fave type of curry?