Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

With a house full of people this weekend, I decided to make some homemade cookies for everyone.

I didn’t want to go far for baking supplies so I visited the one-stop shop near our house. They turned out not to sell bournville plain chocolate which is my usual go-to for yummy chocolate chip cookies, so instead I grabbed some dime bars and a big block of dairy milk to make the cookies.

And they turned into dime bar cookies!

Here’s what I used to make them – I used a different recipe than I’ve ever used before (I googled chocolate chip cookies and used one from the bbc website by anthony worral thompson. At first I thought the cookies were a disaster but as it turned out, everyone loved them. You should know before you make them though, that they are quite different to the typical chocolate chip cookies – these ones are large, soft and cake-like.

  • 350g plain flour
  • 1 tsp bicarb of soda
  • 225g butter
  • 300g mix of half caster and half brown sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs
  • 300g chocolate (the bbc recipe called for dark chocolate, I used dime bars, dairy milk and some milk and white chocolate chips. This is not a classy cookie, but it is a yummy cookie!)

Butter, sugar mixed together. I didn't have enough proper sugar so I used some icing sugar and some honey - you could detect the taste of the icing sugar in the raw cookie dough but it didn't seem to have any effect on the taste of the finished cookies.

Here's the cookie dough with the flour added in - it seemed a little liquid so I added MORE flour too!

Gotta love those cadburys chunks!

Relevant aside – when did dime bars quit being dime bars and start being daim bars in the UK?

Okay… here is where I’d normally show you a picture of what the finished cookies looked like.

I’m afraid I don’t have one.

I didn’t snap one straight away as I thought the cookies had turned out badly and decided not to post about them. Then by the time I realised they were AWESOME….

They’d been eaten

Because they were awesome.

The dime bar pieces melt into crunchy caramel candy and the chunks of dairy milk are amazing. Make these cookies soon!

And don’t be so alarmed as I was when they spread all over the place.

This is a picture from the interwebs that shows you what they looked like