Tags

, , , , ,

I’ve been making homemade pizza for about 6 years now – always using the same method which relies on dried yeast and means a wait of about 45 minutes for the dough to rise (not that long, I know!). Recently I saw a recipe for quick and easy pizza on the Kitchen Goddess (in training) blog and decided to try it out.

Here’s what I used –

  • 250g self raising flour
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 75ml tepid water

Below is the self – raising flour with a splash ofย  olive oil

Next, I added the water and made it into a dough – whenever you make pizza dough (or any kind of dough) its kind of a unique experience each time – things like the temperature and humidity affect how much water/flour your recipe needs. I started out using 200g of flour but found I needed more so added more.

Once the dough has come together, knead it for a couple of minutes until its soft and springy and then get to work rolling it out.

No need to wait for the dough to rise – how strange!

Once its rolled out, you then seal the top and bottom of the pizza in a large frying pan in order to make sure you don’t get soggy pizza.

Soggy pizza bottom is the worst fate known to woman.

This is how it looks when its been sealed on either side – I then put onto a baking tray and added tomato sauce and toppings.

I baked for about 20 minutes – unfortunately I didn’t remember to take a picture of the finished pizza as I was too busy eating it! Here’s how it looked before it went into the oven –

Overall, I enjoyed my pizza and it was great that it took 30 minutes to make rather than a total of about 1 hour 20 minutes if you make the yeasted dough version.

I would call this a ‘flatbread pizza’ though – it definitely doesn’t have the same texture of yeasted pizza but it is super quick!