Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

This meal is another perfect weeknight dinner that will take no longer than 20-25 minutes to go from the idea stage to the eating stage.

Its also a perfect meal to make when you think you have nothing in the house.  Its a FANTASTIC way of using up veggies that have seen better days. Once roasted and combined with cous cous, olive oil and herbs, they’ll taste amazing and no one will ever know that they were on the verge of going in the bin!

As well as that, its also easily adaptable – I tend to always have salmon with my veggies and cous cous because I’m a creature of habit. But it would work just as well with any other meat or fish, or you can miss out the salmon altogether and substitute some feta cheese for a bit of protein, which would make the final meal even better value.

Just one word of advice on the cous cous – don’t buy that flavoured stuff. Especially not if it comes ‘with’ vegetables. Trust me, it tastes vile. Get the plain supermarket own brand dried unflavoured cous cous which costs about £1 for a kg (much cheaper than that gross stuff too!).

First up, preheat your oven to about 180 degrees/gas mark 6 and get to work chopping your veggies. They’ll take longer to cook than the salmon. I like to use red onions, peppers (not green), mushrooms, courgettes and sweet potato on the whole. These are my go-to vegetables and I’m not ashamed of it.

I probably should broaden my horizons at some point.

Make sure you chop them all into roughly the same size chunks and then coat in a tablespoon of olive oil (not fancy just regular) and some salt and pepper. Yum yum.

Next, prep the salmon. I sometimes leave it naked (ooh) or just sprinkle a little olive oil and lemon juice on top. The other things I like to do are cover the top in a mixture of yoghurt and dijon mustard and add some crunchy breadcrumbs a la Beth, or, this!

I mixed up some yoghurt, some coriander, some lemon juice and some salt and pepper and added it to the top of the salmon.

Once the veggies have been cooking for around 15 minutes, I swap them to the middle shelf of the oven and put the salmon in at the top. Salmon only needs about 10-12 minutes in my experience (unless its a whole salmon – this is obviously a fillet!).

While those guys are cooking, make the cous cous! I love cous cous because its so easy to make! Just boil the kettle and pour some cous cous into a bowl. I don’t measure it out as I’ve been making it for so long that I just know what looks right for 2 people but you  can follow the instructions on the pack too!

Cous cous with boiling water added

Then add boiling water to the cous cous (about two thirds water to cous cous) and cover the bowl with a tea towel. And just like that, you’ve got cous cous!

All the water is soaked up!

When its dry, just stir through with a fork to make it fluffy and delightful. You can also add some more stuff at this stage to make it super great, like

  • basil
  • coriander
  • lemon juice or zest
  • lime juice or zest
  • pomegranate seeds
  • crunch toasted sunflower seeds, walnuts or almonds
  • olive oil
  • salt and pepper

YUM! Now all you need when the veggies and salmon have finished cooking is transfer the veggies straight into the cous cous bowl and stir it all up and serve with the salmon!

This meal is also great for leftovers, I always keep some of the salmon and veggie cous cous (I always end up making LOADS) in a tub for work the next day!