Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Vanilla cupcake by the Bluebell Bakery

Last week the Bluebell Bakery (based in Nottingham) came to Boots head office to sell cupcakes! And my very lovely friend Mayumi bought me one! So for all the Nottingham-based people, I thought I’d let you know what I thought of them!

First of all, before I even get to the cupcake, I love the name Bluebell Bakery. Its a really cute name and I’m a little bit mad at them for stealing my bakery name (if I ever win the lottery).

Onto the cupcake!

Presentation wise, it looked great. The frosting was swirled on using the wilton 2d tip and looked very pretty. The frosting tasted like it had cream in it and was very tasty and not too overwhelmingly sweet.

The cake was a decentish vanilla cupcake – I couldn’t actually TASTE any vanilla but that is a hard thing to achieve! Overall I would rate the cake as good, verging on quite/very good, but I would always recommend going with Star Bakery if you ever need to order cupcakes as I fully believe that Liana is an angel put on earth to make amazing cakes!

De Cecco pasta sauce

I tried this sauce for the first time recently as it was on special offer in Tesco – half price! It was 94p instead of nearly £1.90.

As I’ve said before, I find the price of a decent pasta sauce a little hard to stomach – I DON’T want to be paying £2 a jar. I know you have to pay for quality food but it really irks me! So I try to stock up whenever they’re on offer. I bought 6 jars (3 napoletana and 3 arrabbiata) so I was very relieved when I tried it and found it to be edible.

The sauces only have a handful of normal-sounding ingredients like tomatoes, olive oil, basil and salt and pepper, and contain no weird sounding chemicals or preservatives. They truly are ‘homemade’ pasta sauce in a jar and taste really great.The napoletana one is perfect for plain tomato pasta or pasta bake or pizza and the arrabbiata one has a nice chilli kick but isn’t TOO spicy.

This may sound strange, but I also love the retro design of the jar – its quite cool!

De Cecco also do dry pasta, look out for that and their range of sauces in the supermarket (when its on offer!).

Have you tried any new products that you loved lately? Let me know in the comments! I’m very excited to try the new Boost cake bars soon!