Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

These are a more authentic, and much spicier version of my earlier attempt at enchiladas. I’ve been eating a lot of them lately because a) they’re delicious and b) most of the ingredients they need are things I have around the house. In fact, what I normally do is make extra sauteed veggies in tomato sauce whenever I’m making pasta or quesadilla’s and then keep the leftovers for this!

Start with drained kidney beans and sweetcorn, in a bowl. Add sauteed veggies (of your choice but onions are definitely crucial) that you’ve either just cooked or had left over.

You can also add some protein (chicken, tuna, pork) at this point too. I used tuna in these enchiladas. Mix it all up together and add a heaping helping of cumin and a sprinkling of chilli flakes (my new favourite thing).

Dollop the mix along the centre of a tortilla and roll it up, placing it onto the tray with the fold on the bottom. Add some tomato sauce and grated cheese to the top of your (soon to be) enchiladas.

Mmm. I apologise for the blurriness of this picture but I think it still conveys the cheesy deliciousness well!

Have you ever tried enchiladas? Mine are a little different than the traditional versions – let me know what you think!