Tags

, , , ,

It feels quite dangerous that I now have the KNOWLEDGE to be able to whip up pancakes at any time. Flour, baking powder, a little sugar, some milk, an egg (optional) and BAM! Pancakes. Delicious fluffy, fluffy pancakes.

Yesterday, after I decided to have pancakes for lunch, I was gazing into my baking cupboard, wondering how to jazz them up for you my lovely blog readers. After all, I’ve already showed you how to make blueberry pancakes and apple and cinnamon pancakes too!

Then my eyes alighted upon the cocoa powder in my cupboard and I thought ‘Ah ha, CHOCOLATE pancakes’. Deelightful.

Here’s how to make them! First I made vanilla pancakes using a recipe that I adapted from BBC food.This amount of ingredients makes enough pancakes to feed two people (with fruit and whatnot) sensibly or one person generously.

  • 135g plain flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • pinch salt
  • 2 tbsp caster sugar

Mix those dry ingredients in a bowl and grab a measuring jug. Measure in

  • 130ml milk
  • 1 egg (optional, if you don’t have an egg you can leave it out altogether, or you could add in some natural yoghurt)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

and beat them together. Add to the dry ingredients and MIX.

I decided to make two vanilla pancakes before I added the cocoa powder, since I like variety, and also just in case I wasn’t too keen on the chocolate pancakes (I’d never had them before!).

Once I’d started my pale beauties sizziling in the pan, I added 1 tsp of cocoa powder (sieved – cocoa powder is awfully lumpy) into the remaining batter.

I was out of room in my pan so I cooked one massive chocolate pancake rather than two smaller ones. A shame as the vanilla ones are probably the roundest pancakes I’ve ever made!

I ate the fluffy vanilla pancakes first and then turned my attention to the chocolate pancake – it was delicious! Slightly denser but still fluffy and very chocolatey – it would be even more indulgent with a swirl of chocolate spread on top or some chocolate chips inside!

Ok I need your help – what kind of pancakes should I make next?!