Tags

, ,

I am not remotely crafty. In fact I can barely sew on a button. Since I’m a member of the Women’s Institute and a fan of crafty blogs like A Beautiful Mess, it feels like I need to do better! I love the look of homemade quilts and even clothes, but I know I don’t have the skills. So one of my goals for this year is to complete a few crafty projects here and there which I’ll share on my blog.

The first thing that I tackled was something simple. Most of the cushions in our lounge are cute and patterned but I have two completely plain ones that are made of a thick cream fabric. They were both from Primark and cost about £2 each so a perfect blank canvas for customisation!

Taking a look at the little bits of fabric that I had, I decided to go with a red white and blue theme (how patriotic!). As you can see, I am a big fan of gingham! You can get great value squares of fabric for projects like this from eBay.

First, I washed and ironed my cushion cover (you wouldn’t need to do this if it was new). Then I cut out a template piece of bunting. I used pencil to draw a triangle that looked roughly right and then used it as the template to cut around it for my other fabric. They won’t all look exactly the same, and thats a good thing – it will make your bunting look homemade and cute!

20120209-221933.jpg

Next, check the spacing and position of your  bunting triangles on your fabric. Once you’re happy with the arrangement, put all the triangles except the first one in a safe place (where they won’t go out of order!) and get to work! I did a string of bunting across the top of the cushion but it would also look great in lots of other arrangements – take a look here for some great ideas!

20120209-221946.jpg

Start sewing on your first bunting triangle. I used running stitch (I think) to sew on most of the triangles. I worked out as I went along that the best way to do it is to sew up and down the triangles in a VVVVVVV formation, and then sew along the whole top of the triangles in a line.

20120209-221955.jpg

What do you think?

20120209-221913.jpgI have another of these white cushion covers and I’m going to sew a large red gingham heart on the second one, plus a K + L and maybe some smaller floral hearts. I’m thinking making my own (real life) bunting could also be a good project to try!

Are you crafty? What kind of things have you made?