When I was a teenager I travelled to the Florida keys with my family (here – one of the most beautiful places I’ve ever seen), I tried key lime pie made with real key limes for the first time. Sadly the tart zestyness of the fruit didn’t win through the piles of whipped cream on top. In America, more is more!

A couple of weeks ago, I was asked by the team behind Baking Mad to whip up a dessert to celebrate the start of the new daily cooking show Baking Mad on Ch4.Β  I chose this Key Lime Pie because I’m SO excited about the weather warming up. All I can think about is zingy lemon blueberry cheesecakes, ripe strawberry victoria sponges and sparkling raspberry lemonade.

This simple key lime pie uses the juice and zest of four limes, and the bright fresh flavour really shines through. I couldn’t think of a more beautifully summery dessert.

Its pretty easy to make too! First preheat the oven to 160 degrees/gas mark 4/350 degrees F, and make the base –

  • 350g digestive biscuits, crushed and bashed into crumbs
  • 125g unsalted butter

First, grease your pie tin and then bash up your biscuits.

After an unsuccessful attempt at doing this in a bowl with my hands, I regained my common sense and put the biscuits into a large sandwich bag and bashed them with a rolling pin until they were crumb sized. Stir in the melted butter and then press the buttery crumbs into the bottom and edges of your dish.

Place into the oven and bake the base for 10-15 minutes until browned.

Now for the filling, you’ll need –

  • 4 large eggs, separated
  • 1 397g can condensed milk
  • zest and juice of 4 limes
  • 50g golden caster sugar

Crack the egg whites into a bowl, being careful not to get any yolks in with them. Beat the yolks in a second bowl until they’re light and fluffy, then add the condensed milk and lime zest and juice. In the second bowl, whisk the egg whites and caster sugar until firm and then fold into the lime mixture carefully.

Fill the pie dish with the limey creamy goodness and return to the oven for 20-25 minutes. I baked mine in the middle of the oven so it didn’t get too browned. When its done, it will be set and slightly browned. Leave to cool, then decorate with icing sugar, more limes, and whipped cream if you so desire!

Baking Mad is on weekdays on Channel 4 at 12.05pm – or you can catch up on 4OD! And you can check out baking tips and recipes at the Baking Mad online here.

x Kerry