Liana's amazing pink birthday cake

I had a lovely weekend in summery Nottingham where it was beautifully sunny and warm! I just love Spring, there’s nothing else quite like it and it makes me so excited about everything to come – like bbqs!

Anyway, today I want to show you some pictures of the March cake club which I went to on Sunday. I’ve mentioned Cake Eaters Anonymous before on Kerrycooks, but in case you’re new – its a monthly cake club which raises money for deserving charities through the medium of cake! Bakers pay a small fee to go along, bringing a cake or baked good of their choice, and they then spend a lovely afternoon chatting, meeting  new people and eating cake!

This months club was held at the Larder on Goosegate, which is a lovely restaurant which was also the first ever Boots the Chemist store almost two hundred years ago.

All of the cakes this month were just so amazing… the first one that caught my eye was this amazing key lime pie. It was SO zesty and delicious. I almost ate a whole piece before it overwhelmed me.

And an amazing chocolate cake by Kate….

Cute plane gingerbread by Helen!

Ice cream cupcakes by Holly!

I chose pink birthday cake, key lime pie and coconut cake for my selections – they were all delicious!

So what cake did I make? Well the charity this month was the Rainbow hospice, which is based in the East Midlands and which provides great care, therapy and fun for children and their families. I decided that this had to be the month I make a rainbow cake!

What do you think? I’ll post the recipe and more pictures very soon!

If you’re in the midlands and interested in coming to the next cake club, check out the details here – the next one is April 18th followed by April 29th.

x Kerry