I almost never cook roast chicken because I have an irrational fear of poisoning my friends and family with an undercooked chicken – also, as I’ve mentioned before quite a bit on Kerry Cooks, I eat a mostly vegetarian diet.

Luckily, my mum was at my house a few weeks ago to to help me successfully cook this chicken! Its not as scary as I feared – as long as you’re sure the juices are running clear, you’ll be fine!

This recipe, adapted from Waitrose.com serves 4-6 people, and some cats –

  • 1 organic free range chicken about 1.3-1.6kg
  • half a lemon, thinly sliced
  • 1kg potatos, washed, peeled and cut into chunks
  • 3 large red onions, peeled and cut into quarters
  • 10 sprigs fresh thyme, roughly chopped and a couple more for decoration
  • 3 cloves garlic, peeled, and cut into small chunks
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • salt and pepper

Your chicken should be at room temperature around an hour before you want to cook it, so remove it from the fridge and let it rest. Preheat your oven to 230 degrees/gas mark 8. If your oven isn’t fan assisted, like mine, the chicken will take longer to cook – mine took around twice the recommended time!

Once your oven is preheated, get cooking  – chop your potatos, onions, garlic and toss them in the olive oil in your pan with half of the thyme. Now take the remaining thyme and the lemon and stuff it into the cavity of the chicken (I found this part to be extremely gross!). Place the chicken upside down in the centre of your pan with the potatos and onions around it, and add salt and pepper.

Cook for 45 minutes and then turn the chicken over. If your oven is fan assisted, check your chicken after 70 minutes by poking in a metal skewer between the breast and leg joint. Once the juices coming out of the chicken run clear, its done. My oven isn’t fan assisted and it took more like 95 minutes.

Remove the chicken from the pan and transfer to a cutting board, and let it rest for 15-20 minutes. My vegetables were still cooking at this point believe it or not, having been a bit crowded by the chicken and not having got a chance to cook properly. If yours are done, then remove them from the oven and keep them warm in a serving dish until you’re ready to eat.

Enjoy!

x Kerry