Tags

, , , , , , ,

I just bought this dress from Dorothy Perkins and I cannot wait to wear it! When I first got it I was like grr cheap material (its unlined) but its just sooo flattering and 50s looking that I had to forgive it. I really want to wear it soon but I don’t want its first outing to be at work so I’m going to wait until I have an occasion to wear it to……. thereafter, it will make its work debut!

I never usually eat cereal – I only normally crave a bowl of cornflakes or rice crispies like once a year so its not really worth buying a box for! In fact, if I do have rice crispies in my cupboard, its far more likely to be getting involved in some future chocolate rice crispie cakes than just eaten. Normally for breakfast every day I have muesli with yoghurt and fruit which is super healthy, but lately I’ve become obsessed with cheerios. They’re just so yummy and I hum the song too while I’m eating them “cheery oats, cheery corn, cheery rice and wheat, they’re delicious and nutritious, cheery oh so good to eat!”

The Social Animal by David Brooks – I just finished reading this book recently and I LOVED it. The whole thing was enlightening and moving, but the things that struck me most were the little insights into how and why we behave the way we do. For instance, the chapter on babies and how they’re hard-wired to mimic and bond with the first humans they come into contact with, just minutes after being born was astonishing.

I think this book is for anyone planning to fall in love, have children, work at a job – everyone! You can read an excerpt of the book here.

I’ve been thinking about cupcakes a lot lately…. this post which I did last summer is still the most popular one on my entire blog! I know, even more popular than the rainbow cake! I can totally see why – there are a lot of people getting into baking who’d like to be able to produce homemade great looking (and tasting!) cupcakes like those above, and it can be a little overwhelming when you’re just starting out trying to master the basics. Thats why I’m going to be bringing you a new section of Kerry Cooks called Cupcake Academy with everything you need to know about making cupcakes, from the perfect vanilla cupcake recipe, to various frostings and lots of how to’s!

What do you guys think – do you like the name ‘Cupcake Academy’? Also, let me know if there are any specific posts or topics you’d like me to cover in the new section!

Kerry x