Tags

, , , ,

I used to be a regular Avon customer in my teens (so cheap! catalogue to your door!) but the habit has long since disappeared, especially since I’ve come to work at Boots HQ, home of all the makeup IN THE WORLD. I got sent this Avon lipstick in a Dorothy Perkins order – evidently they’re teaming up to give samples to customers from time to time, which is great news – there’s nothing nicer than a little free gift when you buy something online!

The freebie I got was Avon Shine Attract Lipstick which is a strange looking thing – kind of resembling a bullseye. The actual lipstick is at the core of the tube, and its surrounded by a clear moisturising balm.

The great thing about these lipsticks is that they’re really moisturising, so great if you prefer a lip balm normally but are looking for a hint of colour. They also fall into that time saving category of products, also including Clinique Chubby Stick, which you can apply on the bus, while walking down the street or indeed anywhere else that you don’t have access to a mirror – since they’re so sheer, application is pretty foolproof. The effect is shiny but not remotely sticky and you can build up the colour with multiple layers, although of course, it won’t stick around for very long.

The lipsticks are £8.50 at Avon online – I have to say, the price surprised me – I was expecting more like £5.

I also tried the new 17 Wild Metallic Cream Eyeshadow in Bronze. Last week I was unsuspectingly reading emails at my desk when the boots.com content team pounced on me to recruit me for a new video on diabetes for BootsWebMD.com. As a result, I ended up having some time to kill in the local Boots store while the team did some establishing shots so I had a browse of the makeup counters! I was on the lookout for a jade green nail polish (which inexplicably none of the brands seemed to have!) when I noticed these new eyeshadows from 17 in a creamy formulation.

I went for the bronze colour because it pairs well with my blue eyes, but the purple and silver were mighty tempting too.

I tested a few on my hand and decided on the bronze and then continued browsing the store – within 5 minutes I noticed that the colour from the shadows had pretty much disappeared, leaving just a massive deposit of silver glitter all over my hand and arm!

Despite that bad omen, wear is average I would say – not as bad as I was actually expecting given the creaminess of the product, but it had grouped together in a line on my eyelid by lunchtime, and will be pretty much gone by the end of the day without any touch ups. Having said that, the pot is teeny tiny and easy to touch up on the go if that’s important to you. They cost £3.99 each.

Have you tried either of these products – what did you think? What other new beauty products have you seen or are dying to try recently?

I really want to try this new Bourjois nail polish remover – apparently it gets even glittery nail polish off in a second!

x Kerry