Tags

,

I vividly remember the first time I ate cornbread, in a restaurant attached to a Best Western somewhere along the west coast of America. It was amazing – light, fluffy, tender crumbed, sweet and savoury all at once and melting with butter and sweetcorn. I think I liked it so much because it tasted a lot like cake but it was a legitamate part of dinner.

This cornbread recipe is definitely a savoury one, but its equally delicious as the first one that got me hooked. If you’re a bread maker – may I suggest adding cornbread to your reportoire?

A note on cornmeal – I typically buy coarse cornmeal from my local health food shop but your local supermarket will usually also stock at least fine cornmeal such as these ones

Makes 12 large muffins -Recipe adapted from Home Cooking Made Easy by Lorraine Pascal

First, preheat your oven to gas mark 3/370F/170C

  • 220g fine or coarse cornmeal
  • 90g plain flour
  • 1 tsp light brown sugar
  • 2 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 1 egg
  • 200g natural yoghurt
  • 300ml milk
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 200g tinned sweetcorn (drained)
  • 30g olive oil
  • dried chilli flakes (quantity up to how spicy you like your muffins!)
  • 1 bunch of spring onions, trimmed and sliced
  • plenty of salt and black pepper

Mix the chopped spring onions, chilli flakes, sweetcorn, yoghurt, milk and egg in a bowl and then add in the dry ingredients

Mix it all up! It does not look or taste remotely good at this stage but it will soon!

Bake for around 30 minutes until firm and browned

Enjoy! They’re particularly good with chilli or soup!

x Kerry