Tags

, , , , , , ,

I had an idea to make cookie dough stuffed cookie sandwiches a few months ago and I was delighted when I saw that The Cookie Dough Lover’s Cookbook contained a recipe for them. Now you don’t need to decide between cookies or cookie dough!

I made these cookies for my first ever bake swap, which I signed up to through bakeme. My swap partner was a delightful lady named Mel who sent me a wonderful package with a note saying how much she liked the cookies (yesssss) and some fantastic brownies – I’ll share the recipe for those soon.

This recipe is part of my Best Bakes – USA series – because what’s more American than good old fashion chocolate chip cookies? Nothing, thats what. This recipe was lightly adapted from The Cookie Dough Lover’s Cookbook by Lindsay Landis, which I reviewed here!

Cookies –

  • 3/4 cup unsalted butter
  • 2/3 cup caster sugar
  • 2/3 cup light brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1tbsp vanilla extract
  • 2.5 cups plain flour
  • .5tsp baking powder
  • 1tsp salt
  • 1.5 cups chocolate chips (I used a mixture of plain and milk)

Ensure your butter is very soft when you start and mix together by hand or with a stand mixer (yay for my new mixer!). Beat together the butter and sugar thoroughly until the mixture is pale and smooth. Next, add the eggs and vanilla, followed by the flour, baking powder, salt and chocolate chips.

Here Lindsay recommends chilling the dough for at least one hour or overnight, but I used mine straight away and it turned out fine. When you’re ready to bake, preheat your oven to 180C/gas mark 4/350F and grease two baking trays. Roll the dough into small walnut sized balls (it helps to have flour coated hands) and flatten them into disks. Pop onto your tray at least 1.5 inches apart and bake for 9-11 minutes until they’ve started to turn golden. Once they’re cool, you can start sandwiching them together!

Cookie dough filling – (this is the egg-free cookie dough which Lindsay recommends. It’s DELICIOUS)

  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup plain flour
  • 1/2 cup icing sugar/powdered sugar
  • pinch salt
  • 1/4 cup cream or milk
  • 1tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips (I used a mixture of plain and milk)

Beat together the ingredients beginning with the butter and sugars, and then then flour, milk/cream, salt, vanilla and chocolate chips, until the mixture is smooth.

Use the cookie dough to sandwich together your cookies and smush them together.

Just think of all the possible variations – chocolate cookies with plain cookie dough in the middle would also be amazing! How much better is life looking now there’s the possibility of cookie dough stuffed cookies in it?

x Kerry