Tags

, , , , , , ,

Today our cats, Marty and Milo, are two years old! Happy birthday, boys!

To celebrate, I thought I’d share some light-hearted life lessons I’ve learned from my two cuddly boys.

  1. The importance of relaxation

Cats seem to sleep about 16 hours a day. The understand how important it is to sit back and relax once in a while! I think we humans could definetly learn something from cats – I’m always doing things around the house if I have a spare minute, but it’s really important to make time to relax too!

2. and of being silly

My cats are now in their mid twenties (in cat years) but they still love to play with the little red dot or a bit of feather. When we humans grow up, we tend to lose our playful, silly sides and become mired down in responsibility. My cats remind me every day about the importance of taking time out of adult life to act like a child again.

3. Stay curious

Life is so much more enjoyable if you stay curious – investigate, ask questions and keep learning new things, and your brain will stay young and your life will be enriched. It’s good for you. But don’t forget to have a nice nap afterwards.

4. Keep yourself handsome

Cats aren’t vain – they just know they’re handsome and are fastidious about keeping themselves that way. I’m a firm believer in the idea that there’s absolutely nothing wrong with making the best of what you have. And while I’m guilty of not doing it sometimes, taking the time to ensure that your nail polish isn’t chipped and your hair looks pretty helps you to feel more confident.

5. Be there for your loved ones

Cats are less known for it than dogs, but I find Marty & Milo to be fantastically supportive when I’m feeling sad. They seem to know instantly and will always come and lay by my side and make me feel better. Definitely a great example for us humans!

Are you a cat or a dog person? Tell me your pet stories!

x Kerry