Tags

, , , , , , ,

Push yourself (source)

1.Pushing myself/being pushed!

Lately I’ve been heading to quite a few Ultimate Park Fitness sessions at my local park. I’ve no particular end goal in mind, other than hopefully toning up a bit and becoming fitter, and its surprised me how much I’m enjoying the rather intense sessions. What is most striking is the difference it makes when you really PUSH YOURSELF (or you have someone pushing you). It can be way too easy when you’re working out alone to go a bit easy on yourself rather than giving it your all. If you’re one of those people, I’d really recommend seeking out a group based activity like this where the trainers motivate you to really work hard – and push further than you otherwise would have. Plus, you can translate the lesson into solo workout sessions – when you feel like you need to stop and rest, make yourself keep going a bit longer and your endurance and fitness will improve!

Stationery. Photo via Ashe on Pinterest

2.Back to school

It’s that time of year again…. the time when rows and rows of notebooks, rulers, coloured pencils, pens and post-it notes call my name from their special aisle in the supermarket and I feel compelled to buy new notebooks and pens from my stationery mecca, Paperchase (especially, ever so especially, if the notebooks have rainbow coloured paper inside!). Nothing can diminish the joy at having new stationery, that first page of the notebook to write in, the thrill at the possibility of a blank sheet of paper.

Oh, and did I ever mention that I adored school dinners too? Ours were absolutely delicious

Eating Al Fresco (Source – Pinterest via Riazzoli.blogspot.com)

3.Balmy summer evenings

Although the nights are drawing in, the weather has perked up during August and we’re taking every opportunity to sit and enjoy dinner outside. Its just so much more social and quality-time feeling than sitting indoors, even if we are watching Arrested Development (yes that’s quality time too, just a different kind!).

Summer reading (source)

4.Summer reading

So I may not be going on a relaxing three week beach  holiday, but nevertheless, I’m just tearing through the library books at the moment. In the past few weeks, I’ve read The Chrysalids, The drowned world, The Kite runner, Daughter of smoke and bone, Children of men, Childhood’s end,  The Time machine, and now I’m reading The Age of Miracles with The Brief History of the Dead and The Midwich Cuckoos waiting in the wings. Any recommendations on books I have to read/ you think I’d like?

What are you loving right now? Let me know in the comments!

x Kerry