I made these pancakes when I had some friends over for brunch. They were absolutely divine. DIVINE! In fact, they were so good that I failed to take any pictures of them at all. Whoops. But I’m sure you would have done the same thing in my situation – after all, taking pictures that look good takes time… time in which my pancakes would go cold. So I did what I’m fairly sure you guys would have wanted me to do – I gobbled them down. And they were AMAZING.

And then I made them again just so I could share them with you! I’m here to tell you that you MUST make them. Adrianna of A Cozy Kitchen is 100% right when she says that they are good for what ails you. And if you have a broken (or just bruised) heart, you absolutely must make these.

These amounts make enough for a generous breakfast for two, or just double or triple to feed a group for brunch. I got my canned pumpkin from amazon – far easier than deseeding and fleshing your own!

You’ll need –

  • 1 cup plain flour
  • 2 tbsp golden caster sugar (or whatever sugar you have)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • pinch salt
  • pinch ground cloves
  • pinch grated nutmeg
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 cup buttermilk (you can get it from most larger supermarkets now, but if you can’t find it, use natural yoghurt mixed with a little milk)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips

Sift your dry ingredients together in a large bowl, and then in a jug, combine your egg, pumpkin, and buttermilk and give it a good mix. Add to the flour mixture and stire until combined. Spoon ladlefulls into a large saucepan or griddle that you’ve added a knob of butter to and cook until bubbles appear on the top of the batter, then check and flip them over.

Enjoy!

x Kerry