Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Okay… we’re almost there… Christmas is just over a week away! Even though the big day is almost here, its not too late to make some delicious homemade gifts for your friends and family. I shared some ideas here and here for personal and lovely gifts, like chocolate chip cookie mix and homemade vanilla extract.

One idea that I LOVE making a big batch of cookies or brownies that I can customise for gifts for different people, with their favourite candy or chocolate bars. Most chocolate bars work great inside a cookie or brownie, for instance, Rolo Cookies and Bounty Brownies.

To give you some inspiration, here are some ideas for extra special brownies that will make fantastic presents this Christmas. I mean, have you EVER met anyone who didn’t like chocolate brownies?

Recipe adapted from How to be a domestic goddess by Nigella Lawson

To bake your brownies ready to become gifts, I’d recommend getting some small foil tins (sold in all supermarkets now, check the baking aisle, or Wilko’s and Lakeland)

  • 375g soft unsalted butter
  • 400g dark chocolate (I normally use tesco branded 70% cocoa chocolate)
  • 5 medium eggs
  • 2 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 450g golden caster sugar
  • 225g plain flour
  • good pinch salt

I customised my brownies with –

  • Reese’s Kisses
  • Reese’s chocolate peanut butter cups
  • Cadbury’s chocolate pretzels
  • Nestle white and milk chocolate crunch bar chunks

With all of the added extras, I pushed them into the top of the batter just before the brownies went into the oven.

The possibilities are endless!

x Kerry