Tags

, , , , , , ,

Lo, February is here once again, and with it comes the annual dilemma that is Valentine’s Day. To gift or not to gift, what level of gifting, to do cards or not, whether to go out ON Valentine’s or not – its a tricky one.

And though Valentine’s is acknowledged, at least by all the women I know, as something of a cliched exercise in money making, its also nice to be spoilt (and to spoil!) every now and again.

So without further adieu, here is some Valentine’s gift inspiration for you, both for him, and for you (in case you either need to self-gift or to point your beaux in the direction of this post).

Valentine's Gifts

Books have always been my go-to Valentine’s gift for my other half, since he’s book crazy. I also LOVE buying these great prints (such as the You are My Sunshine one, above) from Etsy and then framing them with a cheap frame from Amazon. I can get a great, almost personalised piece of artwork in that way for under £20 (TK Maxx is also a treasure trove for cute artwork and frames).

I also LOVE giving photo’s as gifts, in a pretty photo frame, and the one above from Next, has heart spaces in it for a romantic gift. I can imagine it looking great with pictures of you and your other half as kids/adults in the left and right frames, and then together in the centre frames (I want to do something like this with pictures of Marty and Milo too!).

Flowers are an obvious choice for Valentine’s – but if any men are reading this – please do not go down the red rose route (unless its been established that your lady is a red rose fan). Instead, try to go for the flowers that you know she loves best – personally I think sunflowers, freesias, peonies, and tuilips in an unfussy bouqet are the best – and its often easier to find modern arrangements in supermarkets and local markets than at online florists (but you must check out Arena Flowers hilarious twitter feed) – Plus, you save a lot of money by picking them up yourself rather than getting them delivered.

Valentine's Cards

Now onto Valentine’s cards – how cute are these! I especially love the moon and back and the heart thief racoon ones – you can find really great stuff at both Etsy and notonthehighstreet – and Paperchase usually have really great ones too.

Although it can be a little silly to get another cute (and expensive) card every year – I say, if you want to do it, do it right, and then create a massive collage/scrapbook using the cards every few years. We’re starting a new tradition this year, using the same MASSIVE card that Lee got me a few years back to write messages in every year.

I’ll be back next week with ideas for homemade Valentine’s gifts of the edible variety – cause you know homemade is always best!

x Kerry