Tags

, , , , , , , ,

IMG_0373

So as we’ve discussed before, Nutella is a dangerous substance that can’t generally be kept in my house… kinda like kryptonite (nutella also incapacitates me by gradually replacing all my other meals with nutella based ones). But I’m not disciplined enough to ban it from my life forever – I have to get my fix periodically with homemade nutella, nutella cookies and occasionally, nutella on toast (the best).

When I saw this recipe on Bakerella’s gorgeous blog, using Biscoff (crushed lotus biscuits spread) to make Rice Krispie treats, it set gears moving in my head, and I decided to do something similar with nutella. The result is a deliciously chewy, decadently chocolate rice krispie treat, made more grown up with the tang of sea salt that comes through. Decorated with yet more nutella (got to use up the whole jar!) and mini-marshmallows, this is your childhood staple rice krispie treat, but better.

No cooking, just melting and stirring, so these are a great treat to make with kids or for last minute events

  • 115g soft unsalted butter
  • 300g marshmallows – any type, big, mini, whatever brand you like
  • 1 cup nutella
  • 6 cups rice krispies
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt flakes

This recipe is so simple – all you need is a microwave! Before you get started, pull our a large 9×9 inch (or similar, any size will work really) brownie tin and line it with clingfilm so that the base and sides are covered completely.

Next, pop your butter and marshmallows into a large heat proof bowl and zap in the microwave for 30 second intervals, stirring between each one.

IMG_0358Next, add in your nutella and mix thoroughly – I microwave my nutella for about 20 seconds to ensure its very soft and easy to incorporate, then add the rice krispies and salt, working quickly so you can get everything incorporated before the marshmallow starts to harden. Once the krispies are completely coated, spoon everything into your cling film lined tin, and push down very firmly – the most effective way I’ve found is to put your hand inside a sandwich bag or similar so that the marshmallow mix doesn’t stick to you, and then apply firm pressure to even out the tray of treats.

Drizzle with more nutella, mini-marshmallows and a sprinkle more sea salt, or sprinkles if you prefer. Refrigerate for at least an hour, then pull from the tin using the cling film and cut into large chunks before storing in an airtight tin.

IMG_0366Enjoy! I think the next time I make these I’ll add in chopped cherries and coconut… maybe then they’ll be slightly healthier? …..

x Kerry