Tags

, , , , ,

I thought quite a lot about what to make for my entry into the Baking Mad Valentine’s Day bloggers competition! They were kind enough to send me this box of goodies from Silver Spoon, including vanilla bean paste, chocolate hearts, and giant snowies (those chocolate button type things with hundreds and thousands on them!). The products are all new ones from their cakecraft range and I was excited to see on a trip to Tesco that they’ve starting selling ready rolled marzipan too! If only it had been two months earlier!

I was super pleased to be chosen from so many bloggers and I didn’t want to let the side down.

So I thought about things that are pink, and heart shaped.

Things that are cute and involve chocolate, chocolate and more chocolate (with some chocolate strawberries on top for good measure).

And then I thought about what Valentine’s Day is about. Your other half. Sharing a life together. Knowing each other, inside and out.

And I realised that what I would like to receive for Valentine’s Day. This cake.

Half luxurious pink velvet with lemon-spiked cream cheese frosting. And half vanilla chocolate chunk bounty cake with a chocolate topping and toasted coconut. Half my favourite cake, half his favourite.

Its us, in cake form.

Two different and seemingly incompatible things, coming together to make something that is as unique as it is awesome.

And if I’m lucky, (and I am), my other half may just give me a slice of his half.

Here are most of the ingredients I used to make my mega cake. I didn’t have any gel red food colouring so I used pink instead!

The ingredients I used to make the cake –

Here’s how to make it! To keep things relatively simple, I made lots of vanilla cake batter using my citrus bundt cake recipe and then divided into two bowls.

  • 6 cups / 600g  plain flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp bicarb of soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1.5 cups / 340g soft butter
  • 3 cups / 600g sugar
  • 6 eggs
  • 50ml semi-skimmed milk
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract or paste (I used 2 sachets of the Silver Spoon vanilla shown above)

For the Bounty half

  • 2 x Bounty bars (If I made this cake again I would probably use 4)
  • 150g plain chocolate chunks (I used the Tesco version of Bournville chocolate)
  • Shredded coconut

For the pink velvet half

  • 50g cocoa powder
  • 1tsp pink food colouring (preferably a concentrated gel colouring such as Sugarflair)

This cake starts as all good cakes should…. with soft soft butter and sugar

Beat in eggs, vanilla, baking powder, salt, bicarb and flour and then the milk

Next, seperate the batter into two different bowls and add bounty chunks (SO hard not to eat them all) and chocolate chunks to one bowl.

And add the cocoa powder and food colouring to the other bowl.

I cooked the cake for 50 minutes at gas mark 6 / 140 degrees, testing it for doneness with my I heart cake tester!

I used the Dr Oetker cake release spray again which worked okay this time, except where the chocolate/bounty pieces had stuck to the tin. Whoops!

Next I made lovely cream cheese frosting using the Hummingbird recipe that I LOVE although I do want to try this one by Annie soon too.

  • 500g icing sugar, sifted
  • 75g soft unsalted butter
  • 200g cream cheese (cold)

YUM! What are you hoping to receive for Valentine’s Day?