Tags

, , , , ,

These are the delicious if I do say so myself (and Emma and Lee said so too) chocolate brownies that I made for the Cake Eaters Anonymous event this evening – I will report back on what everyone thinks of them tomorrow! I was planning to try a new recipe by the Brown Eyed Baker but realised at the last second that I needed and didn’t have any sunflower oil, so I used this trusty recipe by Nigella from How to be a domestic goddess which might be the best cookbook of all time.

These brownies are also so easy and quick to make that I should really be including them in the easy tasty dinners series. Not that you should have brownies for dinner. Or should you? The answer is yes.

Here’s what you need –

    • 300g soft butter
    • 300g best quality dark chocolate
    • 4 large eggs
    • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
    • 400 g caster sugar –  I used some dark muscavado, some light muscavado and some caster
    • 200 g plain flour

Melt the butter and chocolate in a large saucepan

Grease your tin with plenty of butter

In a separate bowl, whisk the eggs with the sugar and vanilla

Add the melted chocolate mix to the egg/sugar mix and stir. Add flour and mix!

Cook at gas mark 6 for 30 minutes

They turned out exactly how I wanted – crackly and chewy on the top, with a fudgy moist centre. Be sure to keep an eagle eye on them as they’re cooking though and whip them out of the oven as soon as you think they’re done!

I think I’ve literally made this brownie recipe about a hundred times! What recipe book do you use the most, or what recipe do you make over and over?